[lm-sensors] [PATCH] hwmon: convert drivers/hwmon/* to use module_i2c_driver()

Guenter Roeck guenter.roeck at ericsson.com
Sun Nov 27 18:32:04 CET 2011


On Fri, Nov 25, 2011 at 11:57:08AM -0500, Guenter Roeck wrote:
> On Fri, Nov 25, 2011 at 02:06:27AM -0500, Axel Lin wrote:
> > This patch converts the drivers in drivers/hwmon/* to use the
> > module_i2c_driver() macro which makes the code smaller and a bit
> > simpler.
> > 
> > Cc: Corentin Labbe <corentin.labbe at geomatys.fr>
> > Cc: Dirk Eibach <eibach at gdsys.de>
> > Cc: "Mark M. Hoffman" <mhoffman at lightlink.com>
> > Cc: Steve Glendinning <steve.glendinning at smsc.com>
> > Cc: Riku Voipio <riku.voipio at iki.fi>
> > Cc: Guillaume Ligneul <guillaume.ligneul at gmail.com>
> > Cc: David George <david.george at ska.ac.za>
> > Cc: "Hans J. Koch" <hjk at hansjkoch.de>
> > Cc: Marc Hulsman <m.hulsman at tudelft.nl>
> > Cc: Rudolf Marek <r.marek at assembler.cz>
> > Signed-off-by: Axel Lin <axel.lin at gmail.com>
> 
> Acked-by: Guenter Roeck <guenter.roeck at ericsson.com>
> 
> What is the plan for those patches ? Are they expected to all go through the same tree,
> or through individual trees after the necessary defines are introduced into mainline ?
> 
My question was answered in another thread related to the misc subsystem.
The patch this one depends on will only be available in 3.3-rc1. It would have been
nice to let us know ahead of time, because I _did_ find out the hard way.

I would suggest to resubmit the i2c and spi patches against a working baseline
once it is available, to make sure it does not miss some new drivers.

On a side note, this patch does miss the drivers in hwmon/pmbus, but I can take care
of those myself.

Guenter




More information about the lm-sensors mailing list